Crock Pot (Not-So) Roasted Chicken

Standard

I don’t know why I thought cooking a chicken in the crock pot would yield the same tender and juicy chicken with a crispy skin that comes from the oven or grill!

Tonight’s entrée was Cilantro Lime Crock Pot Chicken from  Food On The Table App.  The overall flavor gave way to too much lime and cilantro.  The chicken was so tender that when I picked it out of the crock pot the chicken just fell apart!  My only thought is that maybe I cooked the chicken too long.  Instead of 7 hours, it cooked for 10!  Oops!  Luckily I was able to salvage one leg or else I would have had to listen to a nearly 4-year-old cry about no “chicken on the bone.”  But given the chicken was half covered with its own juices, it was rather dry.

I was sadly disappointed by the overall flavor of this recipe.  If I were to make it again, I would plan on using the meat for other mexican recipes-chicken enchiladas, chicken quesadillas, or tortilla soup, that would add some spice to this entrée.

 

Leave a Reply

