(un)Happy Hour

Standard

What do you get when your 4 year old is overtired from a weekend of fun and doesn’t get enough sleep the night before.  A mommy who is ready to pull all of her hair out and in need of a (strong) cocktail.  My husband just got home from work and commented that our daughter sounded like a newborn!

Cilantro-Jalapeno Limeade. Photo from MyRecipes.com

On to the good stuff….literally!  I made the Cilantro-Jalapeno Limeade from Cooking Light.  It is absolutely delicious.  I doubled this recipe to make a full pitcher, so I cheated and used bottled Key Lime Juice.  I don’t have an electric juicer and I was not about to juice 20+ limes for a cocktail!!  I also only used 3 Jalapenos instead of 4 (for the double recipe).  I could taste the Jalapeno flavor but it was not enough heat.  So next time (and yes there most certainly will be) I will use the recommended amount of Jalapenos.

 

To turn this delightful ‘mocktail’ into a cocktail, I added a 3-count of Hornitos Tequila to each glass.  I also rimmed the glass with Williams-Sonoma’s Chili Margarita Salt.  Perfect!!  Time for round 2!!

Leave a Reply

